Message from the Editor-in-Chief

Marc Moonen

Department of Electrical Engineering, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, ESAT-SISTA, Kasteelpark Arenberg 10, 3001 Leuven, Belgium Email: marc.moonen@esat.kuleuven.ac.be

EURASIP Meritorious Service Award

It is a pleasure to announce that the EURASIP Advisory Committee has decided to give the EURASIP 2004 Meritorious Service Award to Prof. K. J. Ray Liu (University of Maryland, College Park, USA) for his outstanding work as the Editor-in-Chief of the EURASIP Journal on Applied Signal Processing (2001-2002) and as the Editor-in-Chief of the new EURASIP Book Series on Signal Processing and Communications.

I sincerely congratulate Ray on this Award, and wish to thank him for his continued interest and efforts for EURASIP JASP as a Senior Advisory Editor.

The Award will be presented at the EUSIPCO 2004 Awards Ceremony, Vienna, September 2004.

Best Paper Award 2003

Last year, the EURASIP Advisory Committee decided to install an *Annual Best Paper Award* for the EURASIP Journal on Applied Signal Processing, in recognition of the continued growth of the journal as well as the quality of the papers it publishes. The first EURASIP JASP Best Paper Award covered the period 2001-2002, while this second Award covers the year 2003, where over 130 papers were published.

The 2003 Best Paper Award Committee consisted of EURASIP JASP Associate Editors *Prof. Phillip Regalia* (Chair of the Committee, Institut National des Telecommunications, Evry, France), *Prof. Jaakko Astola* (Tampere University of Technology, Tampere, Finland), and *Prof. Hideaki Sakai* (Kyoto University, Kyoto, Japan).

From a shortlist of six papers nominated by the members of the Editorial Board and/or Guest Editors of Special Issues, the Award Committee decided to give the 2003 Best Paper Award to the paper entitled "A vision chip for color segmentation and pattern matching" by Ralph Etienne-Cummings, Philippe Pouliquen, and M. Anthony Lewis which appeared in EURASIP JASP Vol. 2003, No. 7 (June).

I sincerely congratulate the authors on this Award. I also would like to thank the EURASIP JASP Award Committee, for their outstanding selection work.

Both the 2001-2002 and the 2003 Awards will be presented at the EUSIPCO 2004 Awards Ceremony, Vienna, September 2004.

Editorial Board

On July 1st, ten new Associate Editors have agreed to join the EURASIP JASP Editorial Board: Kostas Berberidis (University of Patras, Patras, Greece); Joe Chen (Northrop Grumman Space Technology, Redondo Beach, USA); Frank Ehlers (Federal Armed Forces Underwater Acoustics and Marine Geophysics Research Institute, Kiel, Germany); Walter Kellermann (University Erlangen-Nuremberg, Erlangen, Germany); Alex Kot (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore); Geert Leus (Delft University of Technology, Delft, The Netherlands); Vincent Poor (Princeton University, Princeton, USA); Yuan-Pei Lin (National Chiao Tung University, Hsinchu, Taiwan); Dimitrios Tzovaras (Informatics and Telematics Institiut, Thessaloniki, Greece); Jar-Ferr Yang (National Cheng Kung University, Tainan, Taiwan). I welcome them on Board and look forward to working with them.

I would like to express my heartfelt thanks to the Editorial Board Members currently leaving the Editorial Board: Kiyoharu Aizawa,Tony Constantinides, Sadaoki Furui, Mos Kaveh, Kyoung Mu Lee, Geoffrey Li, Ioannis Pitas, Wan-Chi Siu, Michael Strintzis, and Andy Wu.

Marc Moonen Editor-in-Chief